Interview with James (tensquaremetres)

Interview with James (tensquaremetres)

In this post our community member James (Tensquaremetres) talks about his woodworking and his background.

Subscribe to our newsletter so you don’t miss any posts.

Please see this FAQ about our use of languages.

In diesem Beitrag, möchten wir unser Community Mitglied James (tensquaremetres) vorstellen. Wir haben ihm ein paar Fragen zu sich und seinem Hobby gestellt und er hat uns geantwortet.

Abonniere unseren Newsletter, um künftige Beiträge nicht zu verpassen.

Please introduce yourself to our readers: Where are you from? What do you do when you’re not in the workshop, and where can we find you on the web?

I am James and by day I’m an IT Project Manager from the UK. My online woodworking presence is predominantly on Instagram as I love the simplicity of it over other social media. My Instagram name is @tensquaremetres – chosen because my house is small and I don’t have much space outside to work in! I have a YouTube account, though I don’t upload anything at present – it’s more passive engagement for me: keeps my woodworking and making subscriptions separate and makes it easy to communicate with others on the comments section.

How old are you and for how long have you been practicing woodworking as a hobby?

For the past four or five years I’ve been taking woodworking really seriously as my hobby. I’m 32-years-old now, and been making things here and there since I was a kid, but I think finding out I was going to be a father really triggered the urge to make more things with my hands – I have no idea why!

How did you come to do woodworking and what’s your motivation to practice this hobby?

It’s always something I’ve been interested in, though had many years of being lazy and partying instead of being productive.