Interview with Sam (ChiefCustom)

Interview with Sam (ChiefCustom)

In this post we like to introduce our community member Sam (ChiefCustom) from Finland. We have asked him a few questions about himself and his hobby.

These were his answers!

Please introduce yourself to our readers: Where are you from? What do you do when you’re not in the workshop, and where can we find you on the web?

Hello EWC! My name is Samuli “Sam” Raunio from Finland. I’m a professional carpenter and work full time either in my own “Sam Raunio Design” Shop or in various subcontracting projects. You’ll find me on Instagram/FB: @samrauniodesign and @samtookthesephotos

How old are you and for how long have you been practicing woodworking as a hobby?

Im 39 years old, or young … I started my woodworking as many other fellow woodworkers, as a kid. My father gave me knife and said “don’t cut to your fingers son”. So that’s pretty much the starting day of this hobby that evolved, after many twists into profession in 2014. Im happy to say that it still feels like a hobby though, I’m loving every moment!

How did you come to do woodworking and what’s your motivation to practice this hobby?

I love to create new things, it’s that simple for me. Doing stuff with my hands has always inspired me as well as the beauty in design and unique wood material. I like to think that items that I do have a “story” to tell and im just helping them to say it loud, at the most unique way possible. There’s still so many interesting techniques to master that one lifetime is sadly not enough. Compressing and bending massive wood for example, very tricky but rewarding process. The 5 year old boy in this grown up body is always asking “Why” and “Whats that”? I do have pretty curious mind, so maybe my motivation comes from there too.

Why do you share your projects on the web?